U.S. Department of Labor Awards Workforce Development Demonstration Grant

Coalfield Development is among the 18 organizations in the Appalachian and Delta regions to be awarded funding through the Workforce Opportunity for Rural Communities (WORC) grant initiative. The U.S. Department of Labor’s Employment and Training Administration awarded $29,175,000 total in demonstration grant funds to expand the impact of workforce development efforts.

As announced in a news release from the U.S. Department of Labor, grant funds are focused on rural areas negatively impacted by economic transition. WORC grant applicants were able to apply for funding amounts between $150,000 and $2,500,000 for advancing local and regional workforce development solutions aligned with existing economic development strategies. Grantees have designed projects to address the specific skill needs of both businesses and workers in their grant’s service area, located in either the Appalachian region or the Lower Mississippi Delta region, as defined in 40 U.S.C 14102(a)(1), and in 7 U.S.C. 2009aa(2), respectively.

A list of the Appalachian Regional Commission Grantees and the areas they serve are as follows:

Spartanburg Community College


Spartanburg and Cherokee


Research Foundation for SUNY


Allegany, Broome, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Chemung, Chenango, Cortland, Delaware, Otsego, Schoharie, Schuyler, Steuben, Tioga, and Tompkins


West Central Job Partnership, Inc.


OH: Columbiana, Mahoning, and Trumbull
PA: Clarion, Crawford, Erie, Forest, Lawrence, Mercer, Venango, and Warren


Community Action Council for Lexington-Fayette, Bourbon, Harrison, and Nicholas Counties, Inc.


Nicholas County


Coalfield Development Corporation


WV: Cabell, Mingo, Lincoln, McDowell, Wayne
VA: Lee, Scott, Washington, and Wise


University of North Alabama


Lauderdale, Colbert, Franklin, Marion, Winston, Lawrence, and Limestone


North Georgia Technical College


Fannin, Franklin, Habersham, Rabun, Stephens, Towns, Union, and White


Randolph County Housing Authority


Randolph County and the City of Elkins


The Alcohol and Drug Council of Tompkins County


Chemung, Cortland, Schuyler, Steuben, Tioga, and Tompkins


Goodwill of North Georgia


Cherokee, Clay, and Graham


The mission of the Department of Labor is to foster, promote, and develop the welfare of the wage earners, job seekers, and retirees of the United States; improve working conditions; advance opportunities for profitable employment; and assure work-related benefits and rights.

Like this article?

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Share on Pinterest
Share in Email